School Closure & "Stay Home-Stay Healthy" Order

School Closure Updates
no storm lasts foreverTo access School Closure Update, posted previously, click the link below:
Letter from Jeff Chamberlin, March 12, 2020


"Stay Home - Stay Healthy" Order
March 24, 2020

Dear UPSD Parents and Guardians: 

 

Yesterday evening, the Governor issued a “Stay Home - Stay Healthy” proclamation to all Washington residents.  This proclamation orders all residents, except those performing essential functions or participating in essential activities, to remain at home beginning at midnight on March 25, 2020, and continuing for two weeks until April 6, 2020.

 

As you know, schools are already closed at this time and many of our staff members are already working remotely from home.  Essential personnel continue to report to work to support our emergency day camp and food services programs and to perform other essential functions.

 

In response to this proclamation, the University Place School District will take the following steps beginning on Thursday, March 26

  1. All school and district offices will be closed to the public for walk-in service.  Office staff will continue to work remotely and will monitor voicemail and email during normal business hours to answer questions. If you need to visit a school to pick up materials or equipment, please do so during office hours on Wednesday, March 25. After that time, and for the duration of the Governor’s order, in-person visits to school and district sites will be by appointment only.  
  2. Parents may continue to use the district office "drop box" to submit documents at any time.
  3. School grounds and playgrounds will be closed to gatherings but open for “outdoor exercise activities” such as walking and running where social distancing measures are observed per the Governor’s proclamation.
  4. Offices at Evergreen Primary and University Place Primary will remain staffed to support our emergency day camp program for the children of first responders and health care workers needed to care for others during this emergency.

If you need something, please do not hesitate to contact us.  Contact information for our district office, technology support and each school is provided below. Voice mail and email will be checked regularly while these restrictions are in place. Offices will be closed, but we will still be available to help.

 

Be well, 

 

Jeff Chamberlin

Superintendent

 

If you do not know who to call contact the Educational Service Center at 253-566-5600 or email Paula Porter at pporter@upsd83.org.

 

For General Technology Assistance

253-566-5636 (general tech support)

253-203-7700 ext 3342 (grades 8-12)

253-203-7700 ext 3343 ( grades K-7)

 

Chambers Primary: 253-566-5650

Ali Shepard, Principal, ashepard@upsd83.org

Tammy Dobson, Office Coordinator, tdobson@upsd83.org

 

Evergreen Primary: 253-566-5680

Cliff Schlattmann, Principal, cschlattmann@upsd83.org

Leah Minetto, Office Coordinator, lminetto@upsd83.org

 

Sunset Primary: 253-566-5640

Steve Hagen, Principal, shagen@upsd83.org

Jeanie McLain, Office Coordinator, jeaniemclain@upsd83.org

 

University Place Primary: 253-566-5620

Willie Keith, Principal, wkeith@upsd83.org

Zahra Merchant, Office Coordinator, zmerchant@upsd83.org

 

Drum Intermediate: 253-566-5660

Maile Carr, Principal, mcarr@upsd83.org

Sharon Folker, Office Coordinator, sfolker@upsd83.org

 

Narrows View Intermediate: 253-566-5630

Jennifer Wong, Principal, jwong@upsd83.org

Carol Anderson, Office Coordinator, canderson@upsd83.org

 

Curtis Junior High School: 253-566-5670

Jayne Hofstrand, Principal, jhofstrand@upsd83.org

Emilie Walsh, Office Coordinator, ewalsh@upsd83.org

 

Curtis High School: 253-566-5710

Tom Adams, Principal, tadams@upsd83.org

Stephanie Kerr, Office Coordinator, skerr@upsd83.org

 

Maintenance/ Food Service: 253-566-5700

 

Transportation: 253-566-5724